

EFA Board Meeting 20th July 2022

Minutes

Meeting opened 7:37pm AEDT

Chair: Kathryn Gledhill-Tucker

Attendance

Present: Kathryn Gledhill-Tucker, Lyndsey Jackson, Amy Patterson, Paul Ruberry, Vanessa Teague, Justin

Warren, Matt Watt, Grant Orchard

Apologies: Nil

Absent: Nil

Acceptance of Past Minutes

Motion: That the minutes of the board meeting of 15 June 2022 be accepted as a fair and accurate recording of the meetings.

Moved: Kat

Seconded: Justin

For: Kathryn Gledhill-Tucker, Lyndsey Jackson, Amy Patterson, Paul Ruberry, Vanessa Teague, Justin

Warren, Matt Watt

Abstain: Grant Orchard

Motion carried

Declaration of Interests

None.

Chair Report

The chair's report was presented to the meeting.

We will need to be selective with what we choose to engage on because there is an uptick of engagement in digital rights.

In light of the Facebook Oversight Board experience, we should consider issuing a public statement about engagements in the future, and what changes are required from the other party to get us to the negotiating table.

Treasurer Report

Paul updated the meeting with highlights from the financial reports for the past month.

- Income up between recurring revenue, and memberships.
- One organisational membership.
- Auditing process to kick off next month.
- Banking access is all completed.

Motion: That the board accepts the financial reports as a true and fair statement of the organisation's financial position.

Moved: Paul Ruberry

Seconded: Kathryn Gledhill-Tucker

For: Paul Ruberry, Kathryn Gledhill-Tucker, Lyndsey Jackson, Amy Patterson, Vanessa Teague, Matt Watt,

Grant Orchard

Abstain: Nil

Motion carried.

Policy Update

We need to think about what our participation is going to be with regards to the facial recognition work. DRW are leading the charge, but we should be engaged with this.

We want to see the government pass changes to the Privacy Act this term, and kick off broader changes to the surveillance framework before the next election. Achieving this would be real policy wins.

Membership Team

Motion: That the board accept new members that have applied to join since last meeting.

Moved: Justin Warren

Seconded: Paul Ruberry

For: Paul Ruberry, Lyndsey Jackson, Amy Patterson, Vanessa Teague, Matt Watt, Kathryn Gledhill-Tucker,

Grant Orchard

Motion carried. All new members were accepted.

Systems Team

CiviCRM upgrade complete. Some quirks that need further investigation.

Actions Progress

The board discussed progress on actions in the actions register.

Other Business

None

Next Meeting

Meeting closed: 8:42pm AEDT

Actions Register

Tracking progress on actions assigned at previous board meetings.

Action No.	Description	Responsible	Due By
2021-11-25.02	Membership team terms of reference created	Matt, Amy, Lyndsey, Rita	2021-12-31 2022-01-19
2021-11-25.03	Systems team terms of reference created	Grant, Matt, Lyndsey, Paul	2021-12-31 2022-01-19
2022-01-19.04	Donations policy development.	Justin/Kat	2022-02-16
2022-07-20.01	Facebook Oversight Board statement of disengagement.	Justin	